Meatloaf

So my husband is a very meat and potatoes kind of guy. I’m Italian and not meat and potatoes. I remember the first time I made him a meatloaf my husband told me it tasted like a meatball more than a meatloaf. After 12 years together I think I have perfected my recipe and come to find out our 2 children LOVE meatloaf too.

So now that I’m the odd ball out I end up making meatloaf more because my family goes crazy over it.

Here is what you need…

2 pounds of ground beef- I like to use sirloin or extra lean ground beef
1 pound ground pork sausage- ok yes a little Italian has to get in there somewhere 🙂
1/2 chopped onion
1 egg
1/2 cup crushed rice or corn chex
2 tablespoons parsley
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon McCormick Montreal Steak
1/4 cup ketchup + extra for top
and the sneaky part to help get veggies in…
1 medium zucchini shredded (about 1 1/2 cups)

Mix all ingredients well. If the mixture seems a bit too wet add more crushed chex.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Form meat mixture into a log on a lined sheet pan.

Brush the top of the meatloaf with ketchup

image (1)

Bake for 1 hour 45 minutes or until temperature reaches 160-165 degrees

Brush with more ketchup 1/2 way through cooking.

image (2)

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

