DIY Laundry Room Redo

image

Two years ago my husband and I realized that our starter home was now too small for our growing family. We more than doubled our square footage simply because we got a great deal and we didn’t want to have to move again because a house was too small.

I will never understand why builders make these large homes yet make the laundry room the size of a Cracker Jack box. Now when we were looking at the house the Laundry Room seemed small but still ok until we put our new HE washer and dryer in.

All of a sudden the Laundry Room held the washer and drying and left only a small walkway from the entry door, pass the machines and to the garage.

Thank goodness the Laundry Room had a closet- it is where I stored EVERYTHING! The cabinets that were over the washer and dryer were now useless because I couldn’t reach them over the huge HE washer and dryer.
image
(From main hallway entering into the laundry room)

image
(From main hallway entering into the laundry room)

image
(From garage entering the laundry room)

image
(Standing on back wall of laundry room. Garage door on left, door to main hallway straight ahead and double closet doors in the middle)

I started thinking about my kids. Before I knew it they were going to be school age and there was no where to put a back pack. I was also sick of the dozens of shoes that were piling up by the front door. I was also tired of searching for lost car keys and wallets.

I found myself on Pinterest looking at Laundry Room pictures. I saw a picture of a stacked HE washer and dryer and a light bulb went off in my head.

I immediately looked up my washer and dryer to see if they could be stacked and they could!
I called my husband at work and ran through the idea and the design I was putting together in my head.
I could take my small laundry room and turn it into a functional mud room. A place where we could have storage, a family command center, a bench seat and more!!!

My next call was to my Dad. 1 to see if he thought it could work and 2 to see if he could help with the project.

We decided it all could be done in a long weekend. The redo would take place Memorial Day weekend.

First thing first- we gutted the room. Everything came out and the first day was spent filling holes and painting.

image

image

image

Once all the paint was dry it was time to start bringing things back in. Day 2 was spent doing the left side of the room.
I bought a new stationary tub that had a built-in cabinet.
Installed the stacking kit and put the washer and dryer together.
Took the overhead cabinets and attached them back to the wall but this time floor to ceiling.

Day 3 was spent on the right side of the room.
We removed the closet doors because this would become my new bench seat.
I pictured a high shelf with baskets to store hats, gloves, scarfs. Hooks to hang coats, purses and back packs. A cushy bench seat and more bins below to store shoes.

My husband and Dad put in supports and built the shelf and bench. Once that was complete all the structures were in place and it was up to me to finish and decorate.
I needed to get bins, cushions and construct the family command center.

Once I painted the chalkboard on the wall that was going to be the center of the command center everything else fell into place.

I even had custom vinyl done to put decals on the walls.

And the finished product….
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

A big thank you to my Husband and Dad for all their hard work and to my Mom for sewing slip covers to the bench cushions!

Leave a Reply

