Rainbow Chard

image

Looking for a healthy, yummy side dish? I have been trying to branch out and pick things up at the grocery store I have never tried before.

This week I saw this beautiful organic Rainbow Chard. It was only $1.99 for a huge bunch and the colors caught my eye.

I decided to cook it the same way I cook most greens- taking some tips from my Mom who had dealt with this green before.

I trimmed off the bottom ends of the chard and started to break it down. I cut the stem away from the leaf and gave it a rough chop.

In a large skillet I combined the stems with 1/4 of a sweet onion chopped fine. I added a swirl of extra virgin olive oil to the pan and sautéed on medium heat.

image

Add a pinch of salt and cook for 10 minutes.
Once the stems start to soften add the chopped leaves.
image

Continue to sauté until everything cooks down and is soft- about 7-10 minutes.

image

Finish it off with a swirl of your favorite balsamic vinegar.

Super Yummy!
image

Leave a Reply

