Strawberry Coconut Cream Cake

image

For months I have been trying to find a cake- including frosting recipe that the whole family could enjoy. With Giada being Casein/dairy free on top of both her and I being gluten free I thought it would be a pretty tall order to fill.

Turns out I was wrong! It just took me stepping out of my comfort zone for a second and the result was amazing!

As I have said before Gluten free baking doesn’t have to be complicated. I don’t have the time or the energy to measure out a bunch of different flours. When I can I use box cake mix. Don’t feel like this cheating- I don’t! Once you have the base you can alter it however you want.

I personally have tried and I’m not a fan of the Betty Crocker GF boxed cakes. They are dry and have a weird taste almost gritty texture to them.

Now Pamela’s makes a great chocolate cake mix! You get double the cake for only about $1 more than Betty Crocker and Pamela’s has like 6+ different recipes for the cake right on the bag.
image

I used the sweet chocolate cake recipe with just 1 variation. Now if you can’t get Pamela’s or do not need to be gluten free use whatever kind of cake mix you want or your own cake recipe.

The 1 variation I used was I replaced 1/4 cup of water in the recipe with lemon juice. It is up to you if you do this. Your cake will still taste great, I just think it gives the cake a little something extra.

I baked my cake in 2- 8inch rounds. You can use whatever size you like. The rounds make it easier for layering.

You will need about 1 pound (16 ounces) of strawberries hauled and quartered. Save about 4 strawberries for the top of the cake- just cut these in 1/2.

Once your cake(s) are completely cooled put a layer of strawberries directly on the cake.

For my 2 rounds- I left 1 whole for the bottom of the cake to make it more stable and cut the second cake in 1/2 to get 2 more additional layers (3 layer cake total).

Now for the best part- the cream. This is where I had to step out of my comfort zone a bit. I have never done anything like this before.

You need about 5 cans of coconut milk. Not the stuff that comes in regular milk cartons- you want the cans.
image

You want to put the cans of coconut milk in the fridge overnight. This will allow the milk to separate. Cream hardened on top and coconut water on bottom.

You will want to use a stand mixer or a hand mixer.

Open up each can and spoon out the cream into the bowl you will be mixing in. Leave the water in the can.

Mix the cream until fluffy and smooth (just a few minutes).
If the cream seems too dry you can add a little bit of the coconut water to help loosen it up.

Taste the cream- it’s not very sweet- if you want it sweeter you can add a few tablespoons of powdered sugar until you reach desired sweetness. I added about 3 1/2 tablespoons.

Add about 1/3 of your cream on top of the strawberries of the bottom layer. Spread out but not all the way to the edge.

Add the 1st 1/2 of the second round on top and lightly press down. This will help the cream move all the way to the edge.

Add another layer of strawberries and another 1/3 of the cream to the second layer.

Then add the top layer of the cake on. Spread the remaining cream directly on the cake.
Top the cake with the halved strawberries.

image

Refrigerate cake for at least 4 hours before cutting.

Enjoy!!!!

One thought on “Strawberry Coconut Cream Cake

Leave a Reply

