Macaroons

image
Moist, chewy and naturally gluten free!
My recipe also happens to be dairy free as well!

I have a sweet tooth. Even when I’m dieting and losing weight every night after I put the kids to bed I find myself looking for something sweet.
Just because you have dietary restrictions or are trying to lose weight doesn’t mean you can’t indulge in sweets.

It is all about portion control.
I actually have these little Gerber bowls that I put my kids baby food in that help me control the size of my desserts.

These macaroons are so simple- it only takes a few ingredients.
Here is what you need…

14 ounces of sweetened coconut flakes
2/3 cup sugar
Egg whites from 5 large eggs (or 4 extra large eggs)
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a sauce pan combine coconut, sugar and egg whites.
image
Cook over low- medium low heat stirring frequently only well combined and sticky. About 7-10 mins.
image

Remove from heat and add in almond and vanilla extract. Mix in well.
Move the mixture to a bowl and refrigerate for 30-60 mins until cool.

Pre heat oven to 300 degrees
Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or non stick foil.
Scoop lightly packed tablespoons of the cooled mixture to the cookie sheets
image
bake for 27-30 mins or until golden brown.
image

Yield 36-40 cookies

Yum yum – Dig in!!!

One thought on “Macaroons

Leave a Reply

