Peanut Butter Banana Cookies

Peanut butter Banana Cookies

As I mentioned before, my daughter is on a Gluten Free Casein Free diet. I have been on the look out for kid friendly recipes that will make her feel like she is not going without.
Like gluten, casein seems to be in everything! No wonder so many people have problems. They are in things you would never think of. But anyway I came across this recipe for a cookie I thought would be right up her alley.

Ingredients:

(Yields 24 cookies)

1 cup banana (this was 2 bananas for me) — mashed (the riper, the sweeter)

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

1.) Mix and stir all the ingredients (except the chocolate chips) until smooth.

2.) Blend the chocolate chips into the batter.

3.) Drop one tablespoon of the batter onto either parchment paper or a greased cookie sheet. I like to use non-stick foil.

4.) Bake the cookies at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until they start to turn golden-brown along the edges.

Chocolate chips are something I think most of us who don’t have a problem with dairy take for granted. To make this dairy/casein free I used dairy free chocolate chips. Enjoy life is really good. You would never know they are not like every other chocolate chip 🙂
Enjoy Life mini chips

The cookies came out softer than I thought they would but nothing wrong with that.
They passed the test- Giada loved the 1 I gave her after lunch!

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Cookies

    • Elise, I have never tried using Nutella since it contains milk which my daughter is allergic to but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. It actually sounds really yummy. I would go for it! Watch the cooking time- since Nutella is a bit lighter than peanut butter it could make the cooking time a min or so shorter. If you try it I would love to hear how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

