Italian Sausage with Zucchini and Tomatoes

Sausage with Zucchini and Tomatoes I love to cook, but I was finding it difficult to find recipes that were both Gluten and Casein free that my kids would actually eat. While searching the web and the app store on my phone hoping to find something to point me in the right direction I stumbled onto the Whole Foods Recipes app! I fell in love. It let me search according to our dietary restrictions, pull recipes that I liked and even compiled a grocery list for me.

We tried the first recipe tonight and it was a BIG hit!

It was fast and easy.

Ingredients:
Italian sausage Recipe originally called for Sweet but I used 1 pack of hot and 1 pack of sweet.
(Side note: I tend to make dinners larger than we actually need so that we have leftovers for lunches during the week)
2 Tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
4-6 Large garlic cloves finely chopped *I used 5 🙂
1 Tablespoon of dried Oregano
1 pound of Zucchini, cut into 1/2 inch pieces. *I used 3 med sized zucchini’s and I cut mine smaller since I have younger children. Probably 1/4 inch.
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped *I was probably a little heavy on this because I love fresh basil
Salt and pepper

Prepare sausage according to package or however you would normally. Saute, grill or boil. *I boiled since they would hit the saute pan later
While cooking heat olive oil in a large saute pan over med heat.
Add garlic and oregano. Stir and let cook for a minute or two.
Add zucchini and cook for 5 mins. *I think mine cooked a bit longer cause my daughter kept wanting to be held.
When sausage is cooked cut into large bit-sized pieces and add into the pan.
Then add tomatoes and basil.
Salt and pepper to taste.
Continue to Saute until tomatoes are just softened, about 2-4 minutes.

This is Gluten Free and Dairy Free!

Leave a Reply

